What would it be like…


I’ve been seeing so many cancer patients, I know how it feels to have that big word become synonymous with their names… as if its a degree like MD or PhD.

Yet, even if i know, its still different when you are the one with cancer. I dare not say its easy to have cancer, though I know those who survive it do so because they know it’s not them. They are not cancer, rather they have cancer and what you have, you can “un-have.”

Those who get past the diagnosis faster, seems to get better quicker. Those who change their priorities to include their own self-growth, seems to survive longer or even thrive better.

One thought on “What would it be like…

  1. This is exactly the opinion I formed when I was in practice, such that I offered advice on this to newly diagnosed patients. I advised that they visualised their tumour(s) and give them a name such as Fred(a), view it as an unwelcome guest. If they had pain after chemo or radiotherapy at the tumour site, I advised that they say to themselves – “That’s Fred(a) putting their coat on ready to leave” or some-such. Very often I had patients look at me as if to say “He’s losing it, he should be taking more water with it” etc.etc, but my impression is that those who could do it did better than those who weren’t able to do it.

Leave a Reply

